Our Subtle Body



Within each human is a network of nerves and emotional organs that interpret the physical world outside. We also have a subtle system within us made up of three channels (nadis) and seven energy centers (chakras) and they take care of our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual being.


Each of the seven chakras has many spiritual qualities. These qualities exist in a perfect way within us and are never destroyed, even though they might not manifest their qualities. When the Kundalini is awakened these qualities start manifesting spontaneously in our lives. With regular meditation we automatically become very dynamic, creative, secure, humble, loving and compassionate. This process manifests by itself when the Kundalini starts rising and nourishing our chakras.


1st chakra – the Mooladhara


The first chakra exists under the sacrum bone where the Kundalini is located and its main quality is innocence. Innocence is a quality that helps us experience pure and childlike joy free of the limitations brought on by conditionings and judgements. Innocence gives us dignity, balance and a very strong sense of direction and purpose of life. It is nothing but simplicity, purity and joy.


Innocence is the spiritual wisdom fund in children and is sometimes clouded because of our modern life style. But this quality exists within us forever and can never be destroyed. Innocence is waiting to show itself as pure joy when the Kundalini rises.


2nd chakra – Swadisthan


Is the chakra of creativity, pure attention and pure knowledge. It connects with the source of spiritual inspiration and allows us to experience all the beauty around us. The pure knowledge given by this chakra does not belong to the mind but is a one to one understanding of the Reality that shows us the blockages within our subtle system. This chakra is also the center for pure, constant attention and the power of concentration.


On the physical level the Swadisthan controls the liver, kidneys and the lower portion of the stomach. The energy is drained of this center when we think too much. When it is pushed completely out of imbalance it could result in diseases like diabetes and blood cancer.


3rd chakra – Nabhi


This chakra gives us generosity, absolute satisfaction and contentment. The main principle of this chakra is peace on the left side. Clearing this chakra relieves a person from stress and tension. On the right hand side, it rules our liver, which represents our attention and power of concentration.


The nabhi chakra gives us spiritual ascent, honesty, spiritual morality and absolute balance in every area of our life when it is enlightened by the Kundalini.


The Void


The void, which surrounds the second and third chakras, manifests the qualities of being our own master. Many spiritual scriptures describes this region as an ocean of illusion that needs to be crossed with the help of a spiritual master.


Thus, like Shri Mataji says, you can feel all of your problems on your fingertips in Sahaja Yoga and you can become your own guru, your own spiritual master because you have the capacity to cure all problems by using your Kundalini.


Furthermore, establishing the qualities of this center within us helps us become free of all our habits, lethargy, attachments and anything that enslaves us. We become our own master.


Following false “gurus” who are only interested in making power or looting you could cause deep damage to the Void area. However, after self realization everything can be made better in meditation with the purifying power of the Kundalini.


4th center – the Heart or Anahata


This is the chakra of the heart and is the place where our real Self, our Spirit exists. The Spirit shines like a hidden diamond within us, is eternal and pure and cannot be blemished by anything. Our attention communicates with our spirit for the first time after self realization and this is how we become aware of our spirit. All our false identities formed by our ego and conditionings drop out and we start identifying ourselves more with our real nature, our Spirit.


On the physical level this chakra controls our heart and lungs. Any disorder in it will bring about diseases like asthma and heart disorders.


Love and compassion manifest through our heart and it also give us a sense of responsibility and pure behaviour towards others. The heart chakra gives the feeling of security and faith in the chestbone area in the center. All our fears, doubts and concerns end once and for all when the heart chakra is enlightened by the Kundalini completely.

5th center – the Vishuddhi


This is the center of diplomacy, pure relationships and joyful detachment. When it is opened by the Kundalini all our feelings of guilt disappear and we have a compassionate voice. Feelings of dominating others or being dominated, inferiority or superiority, all jealousies disappear when the Kundalini nourishes this chakra. The Vishuddhi also connects us to the whole and helps us feel that we are part and parcel of the whole.


6th center – the Agnya


Is the center of forgiveness and compassion. Forgiveness dissolves all anger, hatred and grudges and humbly discovers the dignity and generosity of the Spirit. All our ego, conditionings, habits, racist ideas and wrong identities disappear in forgiveness. We only punish ourselves by not forgiving. Nothing else. This is the narrow gate that enables our consciousness to reach the last stop – the seventh chakra.


Wandering eyes, looking at impure things and being self centered damage this center. Looking at the sky, soil or the nature help purify it.


7th center – the Sahasrara


This center contains the qualities of all the chakras within it. It is the last milestone in evolution for human awareness and is connected with the universal energy. Today we are at a level that corresponds to this chakra and our consciousness has the capacity to easily enter this new awareness that becomes absolute at the level of the Sahasrara. This chakra gives us the absolute awareness of the Truth on our central nervous system.


This is the ultimate point we reach after self realization, which is attained with Sahaja  Yoga and the spontaneous awakening of the Kundalini.


The Channels


A short explanation about the three energy channels: the left channel (blue) represents our past, emotions, desires and feelings. The end point of this channel is the superego, which stores all our memories, habits and conditionings. The right channel (yellow), represents our action, plans, physical and mental activities. The end point is the ego which gives us our “I” ness and the feeling that we are seperate from this world. The central channel is that of evolution. It supports our evolution and guides us towards the higher awareness of the Sahasrara (the seventh chakra) either consciously or unconsciously.